Situated in north-western Morocco, the region of Tangier-Tétouan has the Atlantic Ocean as its western border, with the Mediterranean Sea and Spain to its north. The population of the region is close to 2.5 million and has Tangier as its capital city.

The region of Tangier-Tetouan covers 11,570 square kilometers of land. It encompasses the provinces of Larache and Chefchaouen, and the prefectures of Fahs Anjra, Tangier-Assilah and Tetouan.

Visitors to the main tourist city of Tangier will find that the destination is rich in history spanning back to the 5th Century BC. It has become a modern city with world-class hotels and a variety of new developments. Tourists can explore the American Legation Museum and Dar El oued Makhazen, or join in the festivities of events such as Tanjazz.

Also worth visiting in the Tangier-Tetouan region is the city of Tetouan. The medina has been declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site and there are several other fine attractions to explore. You may also wish to take time to visit the town of Chefchaouen in the Rif Mountains. Or you could spend some of your vacation in the harbor town of Larache. Wherever you choose to go in the Tangier-Tetouan region, you are sure to have a satisfying holiday.



User Comments & Reviews: 8 Comment(s)

Page 1 of 2

adil.cassano - 2011-02-25 14:27:46

ola moi adil sakan fchaouan

Reply to this comment

Morocco.com Team - 2011-02-14 09:03:17

Thank you for your interest in Morocco.com and for posting your comments and experiences - we appreciate feed back from visitors to our site. Best wishes, Morocco.com Team

Reply to this comment

samer - 2011-02-11 22:09:30

i will go tangeir after 2 weeks and i wonder to rent apartment there

Reply to this comment

>> Back to Top

Click to show more comments...

Combine Flights?

Latest Travel Articles

Conservation of Morocco's Wetlands - Part Two

Located on Morocco's Atlantic coast, the Loukkos wetlands include a variety of habitats, such a... read more

Conservation of Morocco's Wetlands - Part One

In an effort to prevent the loss of wetlands, primarily due to encroachment by humans, the Rams... read more

Morocco's Imperial Cities: Marrakech

As one of Morocco's four Imperial Cities – the other three being Fes, Meknes and Rabat – Ma... read more

Barbary Sheep of Morocco

Found in the Saharan Desert and along its borders, Barbary sheep (Ammotragus lervia) are hardy ... read more

Morocco's Imperial Cities: Fes

As the four historical capital cities of Morocco, Fes, Marrakech, Meknes and Rabat are referred... read more

More Articles