Situated in north-western Morocco, the region of Rabat-Salé-Zemmour-Zaer has a population of more than 2.3 million. The vibrant city of Rabat is the region’s capital, as well as being the capital of Morocco.

The Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer region covers some 9 580 square kilometers and includes the prefectures of Rabat, Sale and Skhirat-Temara, and the province of Khemisset-Rommani. The region boasts a rich history based around the Phoenician settlement of Chellah. Chellah was later annexed by the Romans. Today it is a historical site frequently visited by tourists.

Rabat, the capital, is a popular tourist destination known for attractions such as the Mausoleum of Mohammed V, Hassan Tower, parliamentary buildings and much more. Boasting top notch accommodation and much to see and do, visitors will certainly make many fond memories in this city. Rabat’s twin city of Salé is a melting pot of cultures. Many come here to see the old city as well as the port.



Combine Flights?

Latest Travel Articles

Explore the Sous Valley City of Taroudannt

Surrounded by six kilometers of ancient protective walls, the city of Taroudannt is a prime de... read more

Filmmaking Flourishes in Morocco

Morocco is one of North Africa's top travel destinations, attracting visitors from around the wo... read more

Morocco to Benefit from Foreign Investment

Citing Morocco's strategic geographic position in relation to Europe, Africa, and maritime trade... read more

Surfing on Morocco's Southwestern Coast

An increasing number of surfers from around the world are discovering the delights of Morocco's ... read more

Celebrating the Rhythms of the World in Rabat

The 13th edition of Festival Mawazine Rhythms of the World is set to take place from May 30 to ... read more

More Articles