Situated in north-central Morocco, on the border of Algeria, the region of Meknès-Tafilalet is home to more than 2.1 million people. The capital city of the region is Meknès.

Covering an area of 79 210 square kilometers, the region of Meknes-Tafilalet encompasses the prefectures of Al Ismailia and Meknes-El Menze, and the provinces of El Hajeb, Errachidia, Ifrane and Khenifra. Within the region you will find the renowned historical site of Volubilis, as well as a number of other attractions.

The city of Meknes in the region boasts a number of interesting tourist attractions. Here you will be able to see the Bab Mansour, Medersa Bou Inania, the Mausoleum of Moulay Ismail, the Medina of Meknes Mosque and much more. The city also has a variety of accommodation to suit all budgets. Also in the Meknes-Tafilalet region is the town of Erfoud. With spectacular scenery, the town has often been used by filmmakers. This is the ideal destination from which to explore the Ziz Valley and Merzouga. Ifrane is another popular tourist destination in the region. This ski resort town is located in the Middle Atlas and is known as the Garden City.

There is much to see and do in the region of Meknes-Tafilalet, so be sure to take some time to explore the area.



User Comments & Reviews: 1 Comment(s)

Page 1 of 1

said - 2011-03-11 12:27:21

im said i live in meknes-tafilalt maroc im sixteen

Reply to this comment

>> Back to Top

Combine Flights?

Latest Travel Articles

Conservation of Morocco's Wetlands - Part Two

Located on Morocco's Atlantic coast, the Loukkos wetlands include a variety of habitats, such a... read more

Conservation of Morocco's Wetlands - Part One

In an effort to prevent the loss of wetlands, primarily due to encroachment by humans, the Rams... read more

Morocco's Imperial Cities: Marrakech

As one of Morocco's four Imperial Cities – the other three being Fes, Meknes and Rabat – Ma... read more

Barbary Sheep of Morocco

Found in the Saharan Desert and along its borders, Barbary sheep (Ammotragus lervia) are hardy ... read more

Morocco's Imperial Cities: Fes

As the four historical capital cities of Morocco, Fes, Marrakech, Meknes and Rabat are referred... read more

More Articles